Which do you choose? Apple Pencil vs Logitech Crayon for iPad Pro

A couple of weeks ago, Apple released iOS 12.2 and with that update Apple suddenly allowed Logitech’s Crayon to work with some of Apple’s iPad Pro lineup, so today let’s take a look at whether you should buy the more expensive Apple Pencil 2, or maybe you’d be better off Continue Reading

Apple distributes third developer betas of iOS 12.3, tvOS 12.3, watchOS 5.2.1, macOS 10.14.5

  By Malcolm Owen Monday, April 22, 2019, 10:08 am PT (01:08 pm ET) Apple has reached the third round of developer betas in its current cycle, offering up new builds of iOS 12.3, tvOS 12.3, watchOS 5.2.1, and macOS 10.14.5 up for testing by program participants, as well as Continue Reading

Sony’s summer AirPlay 2 and HomeKit televisions include $70,000 8K model

  By Malcolm Owen Monday, April 22, 2019, 08:33 am PT (11:33 am ET) Sony has revealed its lineup of smart televisions it will be shipping in the spring and summer, with the range including support for both AirPlay 2 and HomeKit, enabling the televisions to stream content from Apple’s Continue Reading

Samsung putting off launch of Galaxy Fold after widely publicized screen failures

  By Mike Wuerthele Monday, April 22, 2019, 07:59 am PT (10:59 am ET) After cancelling launch events in China, Samsung has reportedly delayed the U.S. Galaxy Fold smartphone debut for a few weeks, in response to multiple failures of units in reviewers’ hands. Samsung’s Galaxy Fold was beset by Continue Reading

Tim Cook shares four ‘shot on iPhone’ images to promote Earth Day

  By Malcolm Owen Monday, April 22, 2019, 07:46 am PT (10:46 am ET) Apple CEO Tim Cook has marked Earth Day by highlighting four environmentally-themed photographs as part of the company’s ongoing “Shot on iPhone” social media campaign, with all of the images of animals and plant life taken Continue Reading

Bowers & Wilkins wireless Formation Suite speaker setup supports AirPlay 2

  By Malcolm Owen Monday, April 22, 2019, 06:55 am PT (09:55 am ET) Bowers & Wilkins has launched its Formation Suite of wireless audio products, a collection of wireless speakers that offer high performance sound at the same time as simplified synchronization between outputs, as well as support fro Continue Reading

Conservation International & Apple have teamed to protect mangrove forests

  By Malcolm Owen Monday, April 22, 2019, 05:38 am PT (08:38 am ET) Apple is working with Conservation International to protect and restore a 27,000-acre mangrove forest in Cispata Bay, Colombia, in a bid to preserve a slowly disappearing part of the ecosystem. Part of the mangrove forest in Continue Reading

Apple Pay abruptly dropped by JCPenney, is no longer accepted in store

  By William Gallagher Monday, April 22, 2019, 03:46 am PT (06:46 am ET) Struggling retail chain JCPenney has intentionally dropped support for Apple Pay in its retail department stores and through its iOS app, for reasons unknown. As of this weekend, the department store chain JCPenney no longer accepts Continue Reading

Amazon issues even steeper markdowns on Apple’s 11-inch iPad Pro, delivering record low prices

  By Christine McKee Sunday, April 21, 2019, 10:04 am PT (01:04 pm ET) The Apple authorized reseller has dropped 2018 iPad Pro prices by an additional $25 to $50, with popular 11-inch iPad Pro models starting at an all-time low of $649.99 (and total discounts of up to $200 Continue Reading

Could Apple’s lock on premium luxury be eclipsed by an era of good-enough gear?

Across decades, Apple has developed its reputation for selling luxurious electronics with both a premium price and elevated expectations. But Apple’s attention to detail means it’s not often a trailblazer. Could the profits that are currently driving Apple at some point shift to instead support vendors like Samsung and Huawei Continue Reading