Creative’s budget 2.1 speakers, the Pebble Plus

  Hands-On By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 25, 2019, 11:06 am PT (02:06 pm ET) Creative’s latest speaker system, the Pebble Plus, is meant to bring 2.1-channel audio to any Mac or Windows PC at an insanely low cost. There’s a tendency in the review sphere to skew towards mid- Continue Reading

Which to buy – Apple Smart Keyboard Folio vs Logitech Slim Folio Pro

With the introduction of the Logitech Slim Folio Pro, iPad Pro owners now have a second option to Apple’s Smart Keyboard. For the $50 savings Logitech provides, many will consider it —but which one should you go with? Logitech Slim Folio Pro As soon as we reviewed the Logitech Slim Continue Reading

New iPad Pro models with better antenna tech on the way for 2020, with 5G in 2021 says Ming-Chi Kuo

  By Malcolm Owen Thursday, April 25, 2019, 10:02 am PT (01:02 pm ET) Apple will be using an “LCP Soft Board” in its next generation of iPad Pro models, according to Ming-Chi Kuo, the first time the company will be using the technology in the product line, one that Continue Reading

Sealed iPhone loaded with data likely just a demo unit sold in error

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 25, 2019, 09:36 am PT (12:36 pm ET) A man reportedly bought what was packaged as a new iPhone, only to find what appears to be personal data from a previous owner —but there are hints that it may be a demo unit, resold Continue Reading

Renders of ‘2019 iPhone’ depict square camera bump as part of rear glass

  By Malcolm Owen Thursday, April 25, 2019, 09:27 am PT (12:27 pm ET) New renders of what the 2019 iPhone lineup could look like have been published, continuing to depict the long-rumored triple camera setup with a bump made from the rear glass of the device, as well as Continue Reading

New report claims Apple spending less on Amazon Web Services, not more

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 25, 2019, 08:24 am PT (11:24 am ET) Despite hints to the contrary earlier this week, Apple’s spending on Amazon Web Services for cloud infrastructure is actually on a long-term decline, a report said on Thursday. An Amazon data center. While Apple spent about Continue Reading

Apple’s new 2019 AirPods drop to a record low $139, plus $10 off the Wireless Charging Case

  By Christine McKee Thursday, April 25, 2019, 07:38 am PT (10:38 am ET) While supplies last, Amazon has issued a double-digit price drop on Apple’s new AirPods with Charging Case, bringing the price down to an all-time low $139.99. Apple’s Wireless Charging Case is also on sale for $69.99 Continue Reading

NSA recommends White House end phone metadata collection program

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 25, 2019, 06:57 am PT (09:57 am ET) The U.S. National Security Agency is recommending that the White House not push to renew a controversial metadata collection program, originally exposed by Edward Snowden in 2013. In a switch from its prior position on the Continue Reading

Apple proposes simplified location detection using tiny gas sensors in iPhones

A future iPhone or Apple Watch could determine its general location by gases, Apple has proposed, with the use of miniature sensors inspecting the air to determine if the user is inside or outdoors, and potentially even narrowing down to a specific room, without relying on GPS or signals from Continue Reading

Here are all the big changes to Apple Maps for 2017-2019

In a bid to beat Google, Apple is continually updating Apple Maps, bringing in new features and expanding coverage. Here’s what the company’s been adding in 2017-2019, updated on April 25 with enhanced details in Arizona, New Mexico, and Nevada. April 25 Apple’s first-party maps are now being used in Continue Reading