Alexa voice recognition audit teams had access to customers’ location data

  By Malcolm Owen Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 10:45 am PT (01:45 pm ET) More allegations about how owners of the Amazon Echo smart speaker range are having their privacy infringed by the retailer have surfaced, with the latest claim involving an internal team of Alexa auditors having access to Continue Reading

Apple reports fewer self-driving test cars on California roads

  By Roger Fingas Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 10:28 am PT (01:28 pm ET) For the first time, Apple in April reported a decrease in the number of self-driving test vehicles it has on California’s public roads. In the latest data from the California Department of Motor Vehicles, Apple reported Continue Reading

Power button class action suit for iPhone 4, iPhone 4s, iPhone 5 will be heard on Oct. 25

A class action lawsuit against Apple concerning sleep/wake button issues with the iPhone 4, iPhone 4s and iPhone 5 is going to be heard in a Californian court, with the lawyers bringing the lawsuit against the iPhone producer putting out a call for potentially affected device owners ahead of the Continue Reading

Samsung to spend $116B in next decade to overtake chipmakers TSMC, Intel, Qualcomm

  By Roger Fingas Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 09:15 am PT (12:15 pm ET) Samsung this week said it intends to spend $116 billion by 2030 in order to beat the likes of Intel, Qualcomm, and TSMC for a lead role in logic chip manufacturing. Samsung’s Austin facilities. The effort Continue Reading

Apple retains leads in laptop technical support, but gap is narrowing

  By Roger Fingas Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 08:33 am PT (11:33 am ET) Apple has claimed the top spot on Laptop Magazine’s 2019 customer service ratings, scoring 91 out of 100 based on a mix of phone and online performance. To test the company, Apple was queried about enabling Continue Reading

AT&T says the Galaxy Fold will ship on June 13, Samsung still has no date set

  By William Gallagher Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 08:29 am PT (11:29 am ET) While Samsung itself has not given any specific shipping dates for a revised Galaxy Fold after multiple review unit failures forced a delay, AT&T representatives are insistent that it will be shipped to customers on Thursday, Continue Reading

Skeptical investors undervaluing Apple’s services, Morgan Stanley raises AAPL to $234

  By Malcolm Owen Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 08:19 am PT (11:19 am ET) Investors consistently undervalue Apple’s Services, and iPhone sales are strong, which has led Morgan Stanley to raise the target price for Apple stock to $234. The power of Apple’s services and the iOS platform are not Continue Reading

Apple’s quad-core 13 inch MacBook Pro (512GB) on sale for $1,499, the lowest price ever

  By Christine McKee Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 07:42 am PT (10:42 am ET) After initially selling out within hours, Amazon’s $500 off discount is back on Apple’s latest Mid 2018 13-inch MacBook Pro with Touch Bar that’s equipped with a 512GB SSD. With stock available on May 3, now Continue Reading

Designers have social duties beyond a product’s launch, says Apple’s Jony Ive

  By Roger Fingas Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 07:36 am PT (10:36 am ET) A designer’s obligations to the world don’t end after a product ships, said Apple chief design officer Jony Ive in an interview published this week. “There’s a whole range of responsibilities. But they start with your Continue Reading

US survey reveals iPhone XR most popular model, middling Services uptake

The iPhone XR was the most popular iPhone model sold in the United States for the quarter ending March 2019, a survey has revealed, while the company’s move towards pushing services apparently has quite a way to go before iTunes, Apple Music, and others are actively being used by the Continue Reading