AT&T CEO says faster 5G networks will cost more and be capped

  By Malcolm Owen Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 12:59 pm PT (03:59 pm ET) The CEO of AT&T has proposed higher pricing for 5G connectivity, suggesting data plans for the next-generation mobile networks could be closer to that of broadband packages, including both allowances of data and tiered maximum speeds. Continue Reading

MindNode 6 mind mapping app adds new Focus mode to Mac and iOS

The longstanding mind map app MindNode has been updated to add new features to its Mac and iOS versions. Both now feature a Focus mode that concentrates the map on one topic and the iOS edition also lets you select multiple elements to edit or move together. MindNode 6 is Continue Reading

Surfer retrieves working Apple Watch six months after losing it in the ocean

  By Roger Fingas Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 10:51 am PT (01:51 pm ET) A man from Huntington Beach, Calif. has recovered an Apple Watch he lost surfing in the Pacific Ocean six months ago, still in working order. “This thing has been my good luck charm. I would use Continue Reading

Alexa voice recognition audit teams had access to customers’ location data

  By Malcolm Owen Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 10:45 am PT (01:45 pm ET) More allegations about how owners of the Amazon Echo smart speaker range are having their privacy infringed by the retailer have surfaced, with the latest claim involving an internal team of Alexa auditors having access to Continue Reading

Apple reports fewer self-driving test cars on California roads

  By Roger Fingas Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 10:28 am PT (01:28 pm ET) For the first time, Apple in April reported a decrease in the number of self-driving test vehicles it has on California’s public roads. In the latest data from the California Department of Motor Vehicles, Apple reported Continue Reading

Power button class action suit for iPhone 4, iPhone 4s, iPhone 5 will be heard on Oct. 25

A class action lawsuit against Apple concerning sleep/wake button issues with the iPhone 4, iPhone 4s and iPhone 5 is going to be heard in a Californian court, with the lawyers bringing the lawsuit against the iPhone producer putting out a call for potentially affected device owners ahead of the Continue Reading

Samsung to spend $116B in next decade to overtake chipmakers TSMC, Intel, Qualcomm

  By Roger Fingas Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 09:15 am PT (12:15 pm ET) Samsung this week said it intends to spend $116 billion by 2030 in order to beat the likes of Intel, Qualcomm, and TSMC for a lead role in logic chip manufacturing. Samsung’s Austin facilities. The effort Continue Reading

Apple retains leads in laptop technical support, but gap is narrowing

  By Roger Fingas Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 08:33 am PT (11:33 am ET) Apple has claimed the top spot on Laptop Magazine’s 2019 customer service ratings, scoring 91 out of 100 based on a mix of phone and online performance. To test the company, Apple was queried about enabling Continue Reading

AT&T says the Galaxy Fold will ship on June 13, Samsung still has no date set

  By William Gallagher Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 08:29 am PT (11:29 am ET) While Samsung itself has not given any specific shipping dates for a revised Galaxy Fold after multiple review unit failures forced a delay, AT&T representatives are insistent that it will be shipped to customers on Thursday, Continue Reading

Skeptical investors undervaluing Apple’s services, Morgan Stanley raises AAPL to $234

  By Malcolm Owen Wednesday, April 24, 2019, 08:19 am PT (11:19 am ET) Investors consistently undervalue Apple’s Services, and iPhone sales are strong, which has led Morgan Stanley to raise the target price for Apple stock to $234. The power of Apple’s services and the iOS platform are not Continue Reading