Northern California Apple Store thefts restart, $100K in iPhones lifted from Best Buy & more

San Francisco Bay Area Apple Store thefts restart, plus iPhone thefts around the world including one in which the thieves came back to ask for the passcode, and another by a man who had gotten out of jail moments earlier —all on the Apple Crime Blotter. The Apple Store in Continue Reading

‘iPhone XI’ and ‘iPhone XI Max’ case manufacturing dummies pop up on Chinese social media

  By Mike Wuerthele Saturday, April 20, 2019, 12:03 pm PT (03:03 pm ET) A pair of images of an “iPhone XI” dummy for manufacturing purposes purports to show accurate dimensions of the 2019 iPhone lineup, including a square camera extrusion. The images appear to be 3d prints or milled Continue Reading

When to use an external microphone or recorder to make your podcasts

You can record your podcast on your iPhone, but what you might not be able to do so easily is make sure that the audio sounds good. Buying a broadcast-quality microphone or a separate audio recorder can bring your podcasting up a level, and there is some hardware that we Continue Reading

Apple’s quad-core 13″ MacBook Pro (512GB) $1,499, 15″ MacBook Pro $1,899

  By Christine McKee Friday, April 19, 2019, 09:15 pm PT (12:15 am ET) Amazon has issued a $500 instant discount on Mid 2018 MacBook Pros, delivering the lowest prices ever. Pick up a 512GB 13-inch MacBook Pro with Touch Bar for just $1,499 or a 15-inch MacBook Pro for Continue Reading

Apple hatched years-long plan to reduce royalty payments to Qualcomm, documents reveal

  By Roger Fingas Friday, April 19, 2019, 06:16 pm PT (09:16 pm ET) Though in its court battles Apple argued that Qualcomm patents weren’t any more valuable than those of companies like Ericsson and Huawei, in private the company praised them — and was aiming to sue Qualcomm as Continue Reading

How to make the Apple Watch Raise to Speak feature work every time

The ability to just raise your wrist and speak to your Apple Watch without the words “Hey, Siri,” is brilliant. What was initially a convenience is now increasingly useful, too, and yet it’s extraordinarily unreliable. Here’s how to make it better —and why you need it to. We must call Continue Reading

Got a new iPad or Mac? Here’s where to get the most money for your used Apple device with bonus cash offers

With Apple’s new iPad Air, iPad mini and 2019 iMac now in the hands of consumers, it’s time to free up some spending money for new accessories and trade in your pre-owned hardware for cash. We’ve rounded up the best deals — many with exclusive bonuses — when you trade Continue Reading

The G-Tech Mobile Pro SSD is nearly as fast as the storage in your 15-inch MacBook Pro

There are endless options when it comes to external storage, but getting the right one for you can be a tough task. If you’re looking for a quick, on-the-go SSD, the G-Technology Mobile Pro SSD may be perfectly suited. G-Technology Mobile Pro SSD The G-Technology’s Mobile Pro SSD features a Continue Reading

Siri Shortcuts, Screen Time tipped to transfer to macOS 10.15

  By Malcolm Owen Friday, April 19, 2019, 08:35 am PT (11:35 am ET) Siri Shortcuts, iOS’ automation service, could make an appearance in macOS in the update to version 10.15, with the claim it and Screen Time will be among the functions transferred over from iOS at the 2019 Continue Reading

Apple hires ex-Lionsgate executive Danielle DePalma to oversee Apple TV+ marketing

  By Malcolm Owen Friday, April 19, 2019, 06:48 am PT (09:48 am ET) Apple is continuing to flesh out the management for its original video efforts, by installing former Lionsgate EVP Danielle DePalma as a Senior Film and TV Series Marketing executive to promote Apple TV+ and other content Continue Reading