Huawei may be open to selling its 5G modem, but only to Apple

  By Roger Fingas Monday, April 08, 2019, 11:40 am PT (02:40 pm ET) Chinese telecoms giant Huawei is allegedly willing to sell its 5G Balong 5000 modem, but only to one other smartphone maker, Apple. To date the modem has been intended strictly for Huawei’s own products, Engadget noted. Continue Reading

Enterprise certificates still being abused to spy on iPhone users

  By Malcolm Owen Monday, April 08, 2019, 11:10 am PT (02:10 pm ET) Apple’s Enterprise Certificate program continues to be abused for unauthorized purposes, with the discovery of a disguised spyware app that has the capability to acquire a considerable amount of data from a user’s iPhone, one that Continue Reading

Sonos & Ikea AirPlay 2-compatible Symfonisk speakers will cost as little as $99

  By Roger Fingas Monday, April 08, 2019, 10:16 am PT (01:16 pm ET) As anticipated, Sonos and Ikea on Monday revealed two upcoming speakers meant to do double-duty as room decoration, while offering “smart” features like Apple’s AirPlay 2. The Symfonisk table lamp includes a volume knob and track Continue Reading

Apple posts second developer betas of iOS 12.3, tvOS 12.3, macOS 10.14.5, watchOS 5.2.1

  By Malcolm Owen Monday, April 08, 2019, 10:07 am PT (01:07 pm ET) Apple has moved onto the second round of developer betas, offering new builds of iOS 12.3, tvOS 12.3, watchOS 5.2.1, and macOS 10.14.5 for participants of its developer testing program to download. The new beta builds Continue Reading

Healthcare an opportunity for Apple to ‘lead digital disruption’ versus rivals

  By Roger Fingas Monday, April 08, 2019, 09:32 am PT (12:32 pm ET) Whereas Apple’s other recent service announcements are in well-trodden ground, the company “has the potential to lead digital disruption” with healthcare, Morgan Stanley analysts claimed on Monday. “The central investor debate on the stock is whether Continue Reading

LaCie announces USB-C 2big RAID & 8-terabyte Rugged RAID Shuttle

  By Roger Fingas Monday, April 08, 2019, 08:54 am PT (11:54 am ET) Storage maker LaCie is launching two new pro-oriented RAID products, the Rugged RAID Shuttle and the 2big RAID, both featuring USB-C connectivity. The Rugged RAID Shuttle is portable model available in a single 8 terabyte capacity, Continue Reading

Steve Jobs predicted the Mac’s move from Intel to ARM processors

The Mac shifting to ARM may come as soon as a full decade after Steve Jobs died. Yet, as well as championing and managing the Intel move in the 2000s, he also considered these major computer hardware architecture changes to be essential every decade or so. Mockup of Steve Jobs Continue Reading

UK proposes creating regulator to fine tech firms slow to take down harmful online content

Apple and other tech companies may face fines and have their services blocked if they are not able to handle harmful online contact in an effective manner, the United Kingdom government has suggested, proposing the creation of a regulator that could create new rules social networks and other online entities Continue Reading

Enter to win a Fibaro HomeKit Flood Sensor (10 are up for grabs)

  By Christine McKee Monday, April 08, 2019, 07:17 am PT (10:17 am ET) It’s time for another AppleInsider giveaway! This week, readers can enter to win a Fibaro Flood Sensor to protect against water leaks for added peace of mind within your home. Ten units are up for grabs, Continue Reading

Key EU countries block draft of digital tax on tech corporations like Apple

  By Roger Fingas Monday, April 08, 2019, 06:54 am PT (09:54 am ET) This weekend, Sweden, Finland, Ireland, and Denmark blocked a draft proposal of tax that would affect major tech corporations operating in the European Union. Apple offices near Cork, Ireland. The tax — nicknamed “GAFA,” for Google, Continue Reading