Lower iPhone sales volumes & China troubles the new normal for Apple, says Credit Suisse

  By Malcolm Owen Thursday, April 11, 2019, 06:50 am PT (09:50 am ET) Initiating coverage on Apple, Credit Suisse says that the slowdown in sales of the iPhone is expected to continue throughout 2019, with the smartphone business said to be in a “difficult spot” due to longer device Continue Reading

Multinational tech giants like Apple often ‘pay taxes nowhere,’ says German minister

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 11, 2019, 06:39 am PT (09:39 am ET) The world’s biggest multinational tech companies, Apple among them, are escaping much of their fair tax burden, German Finance Minister Olaf Scholz said in an interview this week. “My biggest concern with the tech companies is Continue Reading

Netherlands competition regulator investigating App Store dominance abuse claims

  By Malcolm Owen Thursday, April 11, 2019, 06:10 am PT (09:10 am ET) Apple is being investigated by a competition regulator in the Netherlands over the dominance of the App Store to determine if Apple has abused its position in the app marketplace, and has put out a call Continue Reading

WPA3 Wi-Fi still saddled with security flaws, researchers claim [u]

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 11, 2019, 06:08 am PT (09:08 am ET) WPA3 — a Wi-Fi security protocol launched by the Wi-Fi Alliance in 2018 — is, in practice, better than WPA2, but still fraught with security flaws, according to a recent research paper. “In light of our Continue Reading

Apple Services launches lack depth, while iPhone sales remain shaky claims JP Morgan

Apple has failed to provide enough “depth” in its new services to appease investors, JP Morgan claims, at the same time as suggesting firms in the iPhone supply chain saw good results in March, despite apparent signs of a continued iPhone revenue decline. Investors are shifting their discussions on Apple Continue Reading

Apple exceeds its clean energy goal for suppliers by 25 percent

  By William Gallagher Thursday, April 11, 2019, 01:02 am PT (04:02 am ET) Some 21 further suppliers, including iPhone assemblers Wistron and Pegatron, have committed to using 100 percent renewable energy in their Apple production lines, bringing the total to 44. Apple had aimed to use 4 gigawatts of Continue Reading

Apple slapped with massive 16-patent lawsuit from wireless tech firm Seven Networks

Seven Networks, an active mobile technology company based out of Texas and Finland, on Wednesday leveled a lawsuit against Apple claiming infringement of 16 owned patents asserted against a range of critical software and hardware features. Filed with the Eastern District Court of Texas, Seven’s suit asserts multiple Apple technologies Continue Reading

Apple’s upgraded Mac mini on sale for $529 ($470 off)

  By Christine McKee Wednesday, April 10, 2019, 09:33 pm PT (12:33 am ET) While supplies last, B&H Photo is slashing the price of Apple’s previous-gen Mac mini with multiple upgrades to just $529. Featuring a 2.8GHz Core i5 processor, 8GB of RAM and a 1TB Fusion Drive, this model Continue Reading

Apple’s Mac helped capture world’s first image of a black hole

On Wednesday, the world got its first glimpse at a black hole, or more accurately its shadow, in what is being hailed as a monumental scientific achievement that was once thought impossible. And Mac was there. Using data gathered by the Event Horizon Telescope, a network of radio telescopes spanning Continue Reading

Thousands of Amazon workers are listening in on Echo audio, report says

In a bid to enhance its in-house Alexa voice recognition technology, Amazon reportedly employs thousands of people around the world to listen, transcribe and annotate audio clips recorded by Echo devices. Citing sources who have worked on the project, Bloomberg reports Amazon tasks outside contractors, as well as full-time Amazon Continue Reading