Samsung, Huawei getting close to iPhone, spending on camera hardware to get there

Android smartphones focusing on improved displays and cameras haven’t beaten the iPhone but are narrowing the gap, suggests analysts from Cowen, with main rivals Huawei and Samsung said to be considerably outspending Apple on the rear camera assembly in each of their flagship mobile devices. Samsung Galaxy S10+ (left) and Continue Reading

Apple scraps plans for first Australian ‘global flagship’ store

  By Mikey Campbell Thursday, April 04, 2019, 10:40 pm PT (01:40 am ET) Apple has shelved plans to build its first global flagship retail store in Australia, as heritage authority officials effectively blocked development of the proposed Federation Square site by declining a demolition permit application. Rendering of Apple’s Continue Reading

Samsung expects 60 percent dip in operating profit for Q1, worst performance in 4 years

  By Mikey Campbell Thursday, April 04, 2019, 09:36 pm PT (12:36 am ET) Apple “frenemy” Samsung is expecting a bleak first quarter of 2019, with the company estimating operating income to come in down more than 60 percent on the year due to drooping memory chip prices and sluggish Continue Reading

Apple’s Tim Cook calls sports a ‘great unifier’ in call to ESPN

  By AppleInsider Staff Thursday, April 04, 2019, 08:36 pm PT (11:36 pm ET) Apple CEO Tim Cook took a break from running the world’s most valuable company on Thursdayto call in to ESPN for quick chat about his alma mater Auburn University, whose basketball team is heading to the Continue Reading

Apple ceases iOS 12.1.4 code signing following release of iOS 12.2

  By AppleInsider Staff Thursday, April 04, 2019, 03:00 pm PT (06:00 pm ET) Following the March release of iOS 12.2, Apple on Thursday stopped signing code for iOS 12.1.4, ensuring iPhone, iPad and iPod touch owners are running the latest, most secure version of the operating system. In line Continue Reading

Apple hires senior Google AI scientist as director of machine learning

  By Mikey Campbell Thursday, April 04, 2019, 02:34 pm PT (05:34 pm ET) Apple recently poached Ian Goodfellow, a noted artificial intelligence expert, away from Google as part of efforts to build out a quickly growing team focused on the development of AI and machine learning technologies. Goodfellow announced Continue Reading

Amazon prepping Alexa-enabled AirPods rival for release in 2019

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 04, 2019, 01:38 pm PT (04:38 pm ET) Amazon is reportedly creating an Alexa-enabled set of fully wireless earbuds that could pose competition for Apple’s AirPods. Apple’s second-gen AirPods in the Wireless Charging Case. The buds will have Alexa built-in and ship as soon Continue Reading

Winner of the AirPods giveaway announced [Kyle Y.]

  By Christine McKee Thursday, April 04, 2019, 01:35 pm PT (04:35 pm ET) AppleInsider would like to congratulate the winner of our latest giveaway, Kyle Y., who will receive a pair of Apple’s brand-new AirPods with Wireless Charging Case. We’ve made contact with the winner already, and your AirPods Continue Reading

Apple Card may reap $1.5 billion, be in top 10 card issuers by 2024

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 04, 2019, 12:54 pm PT (03:54 pm ET) Apple Card may reap $1.5 billion in revenue and be in top 10 card issuers by 2024, resulting in a windfall not just for Goldman Sachs, but for the iPhone manufacturer as well, an HSBC analyst Continue Reading

How the Apple Card will assist in managing your finances

Whenever you open your Wallet app to buy something with Apple Card, you get a huge amount of detail about all your spending —plus controls for managing it. As much as the increased security, this is why you should get Apple Card. Buying items with your Apple Card is only Continue Reading