Pixelmator Photo is king of the iPad photo editing apps

Since Pixelmator Photo is now available for iPad, AppleInsider takes you on a deep dive of the features and performance you can expect from the latest tablet-bound image editor. Pixelmator Photo on iPad App Store We’ve spent quite a bit of time using the original Pixelmator on our Mac, as Continue Reading

Functional Apple W.A.L.T. prototype from 1993 shown off in new video

  By Malcolm Owen Tuesday, April 09, 2019, 11:54 am PT (02:54 pm ET) A functional version of the Apple W.A.L.T., a concept “telephone Mac” from 1993 that did not enter mass production, has surfaced in a video, with the distant ancestor to the iPhone shown to have features including Continue Reading

Apple hires Arthur van Hoff, founder of VR startup Jaunt

  By Roger Fingas Tuesday, April 09, 2019, 11:23 am PT (02:23 pm ET) Apple has recruited Arthur van Hoff, the founder of virtual reality outfit Jaunt, likely with an expected augmented reality headset in mind. Van Hoff is just one of multiple former Jaunt engineers Apple has hired in Continue Reading

Apple eliminates $99 data migration fee for Mac upgrades & repairs

  By Roger Fingas Tuesday, April 09, 2019, 10:40 am PT (01:40 pm ET) Apple has quietly done away with a $99 data migration fee it charged Mac owners getting some repairs or upgrading to a new computer. “Beginning April 2, there will be no cost for data migrations with Continue Reading

Second public beta builds of iOS 12.3, tvOS 12.3, and macOS 10.14.5 now available to download

  By Malcolm Owen Tuesday, April 09, 2019, 10:36 am PT (01:36 pm ET) Apple has issued the second public betas of iOS 12.3, tvOS 12.3, and macOS 10.14.5 for testing, just one day after the developer counterpart builds were offered up to download by participants in the test program. Continue Reading

Qualcomm loses fight against handing data over to EU antitrust officials

  By Roger Fingas Tuesday, April 09, 2019, 09:25 am PT (12:25 pm ET) Qualcomm on Tuesday lost a court challenge against a European Commission request, which sought more data in its antitrust investigation of chip deals with companies like Apple. The company had already been forced to hand over Continue Reading

HomeKit-enabled Eve Energy Strip now available to order

  By Andrew O’Hara Tuesday, April 09, 2019, 09:20 am PT (12:20 pm ET) The HomeKit-equipped Eve Energy Strip is now available for order, adding a trio of connected outlets to your smart home. Eve Energy Strip After being announced earlier this year, the Eve Energy Strip is now available Continue Reading

Review: 27-Inch iMac 5K with i5 processor

The new iMac 5K may look the same as the old one, but even at the low-end with new faster internals, this will be the go-to machine looking for a monstrous Apple display and solid performance. 2019 iMac 5K base model We already reviewed the 21.5-inch iMac 4K, so here Continue Reading

Apple’s T2 chip makes a giant difference in video encoding for most users

Apple’s T2 chip in the Mac mini, MacBook Pro, and iMac Pro can greatly speed video encoding, but by how much? Now that Apple has two machines with the same CPU, one with the T2, and one without, there’s a good way to tell. There has already been a lot Continue Reading

Yahoo reaches $117.5M settlement for data breaches affecting 3 billion accounts

  By Roger Fingas Tuesday, April 09, 2019, 06:28 am PT (09:28 am ET) Yahoo has reportedly reached a $117.5 million settlement with the victims of multiple data breaches earlier this decade, which ultimately impacted some 3 billion accounts. The settlement must still be approved by U.S. District Judge Lucy Continue Reading