Here are the best ways to get radio broadcasts to play on your HomePod or iPhone

Tips: It’s easy to use AirPlay with a radio station’s stream, but with a few steps, and an app or two, you can turn Apple’s HomePod in conjunction with your iPhone or iPad into a fantastic, and flexible radio player. That Sony World Radio used to go with us everywhere. Continue Reading

Apple engineer Andreas Gal suggests he was detained at border for voicing political views

Apple employee and former Mozilla CTO Andreas Gal recounted a November run-in with U.S. Customs and Border Protection agents in an interview published Friday, saying he might have been singled out because of his political leanings. A boarding pass from Andreas Gal bearing an “SSSS” mark indicating secondary security screening. Continue Reading

Netflix drops AirPlay support citing unnamed ‘technical limitations’

  By Mikey Campbell Friday, April 05, 2019, 04:21 pm PT (07:21 pm ET) For reasons unknown, Netflix recently disabled the ability to stream content from an iOS device to Apple TV using Apple’s AirPlay protocol, a move that limits customer options. Netflix debuted AirPlay support in 2013. The change Continue Reading

Evidence of standalone Music, Podcasts apps for macOS surfaces, signals iTunes breakup

  By Mikey Campbell Friday, April 05, 2019, 03:33 pm PT (06:33 pm ET) Noted developer Steve Troughton-Smith on Friday said he is confident that Apple is working on new, standalone Music, Podcast and potentially Books apps for macOS, suggesting the company plans to dismantle its lumbering iTunes giant. Apple Continue Reading