Accountant scams company out of $4.5M to buy, resell thousands of iPhones and iPads

  By Roger Fingas Friday, April 05, 2019, 02:27 pm PT (05:27 pm ET) A recent court hearing has exposed a long-running scam in which a Canadian accountant used a corporate credit card to buy and resell some $6 million Canadian dollars (about $4.5 million) in iPhones and iPads. In Continue Reading

Sonnet eGFX Radeon RX 560 Breakaway Puck hits Apple retail soon, but you don’t have to wait

  By Roger Fingas Friday, April 05, 2019, 12:47 pm PT (03:47 pm ET) A less expensive external GPU option for Thunderbolt 3 Macs, the Sonnet eGFX Breakaway Puck Radeon RX 560, is now available through Apple’s online store and may soon hit some physical outlets, but there are options Continue Reading

here’s where to score the steepest discounts

If you’re shopping for a new iPhone, it’s worth checking out the latest deals at wireless carriers for instant savings and buy one, get one free promotions compared to spending MSRP at Apple. We’ve rounded up the best bargains on a variety of devices, from budget-friendly phones to loaded iPhone Continue Reading

ecobee venturing into indoor security cameras, could add Apple’s HomeKit

  By Roger Fingas Friday, April 05, 2019, 10:52 am PT (01:52 pm ET) Best known for its smart thermostats, ecobee is reportedly working on an indoor security camera likely to support Apple’s HomeKit. The camera is a tall unit with a cone-shaped base, and four lights up top that Continue Reading

The 2019 21.5-inch iMac 4K is iterative, not transformative

We’ve been using and testing the new 2019 iMac 4K for about two weeks now, and while the spec bump is greatly appreciated, an otherwise unchanged machine is more iterative than transformative. 2019 21.5-inch iMac 4K For 2019, Apple debuted new 21.5-inch 4K and 27-inch 5K models. While we will Continue Reading

JLab’s Epic Air Elite wireless earbuds put the gym and battery life first

JLab’s Epic Air Elite is an affordable, quality pair of wireless sports earbuds, possibly even preferable to Apple’s AirPods — yet it still faces superior competition. Two things have always bothered me about (most) fully wireless earbuds: fit and durability. I have a hard time finding any earbuds with a Continue Reading

Apple Music eclipses Spotify in paid US subscribers

  By Roger Fingas Friday, April 05, 2019, 08:40 am PT (11:40 am ET) After a false start six months ago, Apple Music has truly surpassed Spotify in terms of paid U.S. subscribers — if with a long way to go globally. Apple’s service hit 28 million U.S. subscribers in Continue Reading

Latest ‘Shot on iPhone’ film produced on iPhone XS highlights surfers in Cuba

  By Malcolm Owen Friday, April 05, 2019, 07:54 am PT (10:54 am ET) Apple has published two new videos in its “Shot on iPhone” series to its YouTube channel, with the main feature exploring the Cuban surf community accompanied by a behind-the-scenes clip showing how the film was created Continue Reading

How to block spam calls, texts, and social media messages on your iPhone

You know how to use messaging and emails, and you use them to get things done, but far too many just want to sell you things or annoy you with them. Here’s how to get persistent callers and emailers out of your hair so that you can get some work Continue Reading

Apple Music subscription reduced in India in response to Spotify and YouTube Music launches

  By Malcolm Owen Friday, April 05, 2019, 05:53 am PT (08:53 am ET) Apple has cut the cost of its Apple Music subscription in India, making the streaming service cheaper than the recently-launched rivals Spotify and YouTube Music to potential cash-strapped customers in the emerging market. Apple Music launched Continue Reading