Apple hires senior Google AI scientist as director of machine learning

  By Mikey Campbell Thursday, April 04, 2019, 02:34 pm PT (05:34 pm ET) Apple recently poached Ian Goodfellow, a noted artificial intelligence expert, away from Google as part of efforts to build out a quickly growing team focused on the development of AI and machine learning technologies. Goodfellow announced Continue Reading

Amazon prepping Alexa-enabled AirPods rival for release in 2019

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 04, 2019, 01:38 pm PT (04:38 pm ET) Amazon is reportedly creating an Alexa-enabled set of fully wireless earbuds that could pose competition for Apple’s AirPods. Apple’s second-gen AirPods in the Wireless Charging Case. The buds will have Alexa built-in and ship as soon Continue Reading

Winner of the AirPods giveaway announced [Kyle Y.]

  By Christine McKee Thursday, April 04, 2019, 01:35 pm PT (04:35 pm ET) AppleInsider would like to congratulate the winner of our latest giveaway, Kyle Y., who will receive a pair of Apple’s brand-new AirPods with Wireless Charging Case. We’ve made contact with the winner already, and your AirPods Continue Reading

Apple Card may reap $1.5 billion, be in top 10 card issuers by 2024

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 04, 2019, 12:54 pm PT (03:54 pm ET) Apple Card may reap $1.5 billion in revenue and be in top 10 card issuers by 2024, resulting in a windfall not just for Goldman Sachs, but for the iPhone manufacturer as well, an HSBC analyst Continue Reading

How the Apple Card will assist in managing your finances

Whenever you open your Wallet app to buy something with Apple Card, you get a huge amount of detail about all your spending —plus controls for managing it. As much as the increased security, this is why you should get Apple Card. Buying items with your Apple Card is only Continue Reading

App Store revenue still stable, with Chinese gaming revenue remaining a highlight

The App Store is continuing to be a stable source of Services revenue for Apple, Morgan Stanley analysts claim, with revenue from the digital storefront up 15 percent year-on-year on the back of Chinese gaming revenue, but entertainment-related apps are apparently worth monitoring for a potential downturn. The App Store‘s Continue Reading

Hands-on with Apple’s new Core i9 iMac 5K with Vega graphics: benchmarks and first impressions

Now that we have a new line of iMacs, we’ve upgraded the 27-inch iMac 5K with the 8-core i9 Intel processor and the Radeon Pro Vega 48 graphics for ultimate performance. Our first impressions with this new machine are very promising, so let’s check out the benchmarks that back them Continue Reading

Amazon plans over 3000 ‘Project Kuiper’ satellites to spread global broadband

  By Roger Fingas Thursday, April 04, 2019, 08:57 am PT (11:57 am ET) Amazon on Thursday revealed “Project Kuiper,” an attempt to put thousands of satellites into low Earth orbit for worldwide internet access. In all in the goal is to launch 3,236 small satellites, bringing “low-latency, high-speed broadband Continue Reading

Apple suggests use of a Mac enclosure that will swell when needed to increase airflow

Apple’s thin MacBooks and iOS devices could have sections of their enclosures that automatically expand in the future, as a measure to help prevent components from being damaged by overheating through high usage, or to prevent damage from the movement of parts. The continuing trend for designs of Apple’s devices Continue Reading

Amazon drops Apple’s 2018 MacBook Pro to $1,599, plus discounts on AirPods and iPads

  By Christine McKee Thursday, April 04, 2019, 08:46 am PT (11:46 am ET) Back by popular demand, Amazon is knocking $200 off Apple’s current 13-inch MacBook Pro with Touch Bar and up to $300 off Apple’s latest 15-inch MacBook Pro. Meanwhile, first-gen AirPods are $12 off and 9.7-inch iPads Continue Reading