Apple touts workplace synergy in ‘The Underdogs’ ad

  By Mikey Campbell Tuesday, April 02, 2019, 04:03 pm PT (07:03 pm ET) A new short film released by Apple on Tuesday depicts how the company’s products and services come together in the workplace to make a seemingly impossible task possible. The three-minute ad, titled “Apple At Work — Continue Reading

Apple employee assailed by U.S. Customs, ACLU complaint claims

  By AppleInsider Staff Tuesday, April 02, 2019, 03:33 pm PT (06:33 pm ET) Apple employee Andreas Gal, former executive of Apple acquisition Silk Labs, was allegedly harangued and penalized by U.S. Customs and Border Protection officials when he demurred to device search requests. Andreas Gal co-founded AI startup Silk Continue Reading

Apple News+ wrangled more than 200,000 subscriptions in first 48 hours, report says

  By Mikey Campbell Tuesday, April 02, 2019, 02:55 pm PT (05:55 pm ET) While Apple has yet to reveal numbers for last week’s Apple News+ launch, a report on Tuesday claims the service saw more than 200,000 people sign up for a trial subscription in its first 48 hours Continue Reading

Ten-year Apple career plaque signed by Steve Jobs goes up for auction

  By Roger Fingas Tuesday, April 02, 2019, 02:24 pm PT (05:24 pm ET) The latest Apple memorabilia up for auction includes a plaque, signed by then-CEO Steve Jobs, commemorating one worker’s 10 years with the company. “This ten-year plaque recognizes those who have contributed a decade of personal achievement Continue Reading

Pixelmator Photo arrives next week on iPad, available for preorder now

  By Andrew O’Hara Tuesday, April 02, 2019, 02:22 pm PT (05:22 pm ET) After being highlighted onstage at Apple’s iPad Pro special event last fall, Pixelmator Photo will be released next week, and customers can get their preorder in right now on the iOS App Store. Pixelmator Photo preorder Continue Reading

Lawsuit charges Apple with ignoring swelling Apple Watch batteries

  By Roger Fingas Tuesday, April 02, 2019, 01:11 pm PT (04:11 pm ET) A lawsuit launched this week accuses the company of knowingly ignoring a problem with Apple Watch batteries causing them to swell and break the screen. Priano-Keyser’s broken Apple Watch Series 3. Filed on behalf of plaintiff Continue Reading

Apple narrowly eclipses Microsoft to regain status as most valuable company in US

  By Roger Fingas Tuesday, April 02, 2019, 01:08 pm PT (04:08 pm ET) After a brisk day of trading, Apple regained its spot as the U.S.’s most valuable company by market value, hitting a cap of $914.86 billion at close. The company beat out Microsoft, Amazon, and Alphabet, the Continue Reading

CBC again attacks Apple’s repair policies, but still lacks knowledge of how it really works

Six months after the last attack on Apple’s repair policies and practices, CBC has produced another report objecting to Apple’s reluctance to dealing with water-damaged iPhones, with it again lacking an understanding of how and why Apple’s repair department works the way it does. Following on from 2018’s criticism of Continue Reading

Apple’s Clips app updates with camcorder filter, new graphics & sharing options

  By Roger Fingas Tuesday, April 02, 2019, 11:15 am PT (02:15 pm ET) Apple on Tuesday updated Clips — its Snapchat-like iOS video recorder — with a new camcorder filter, plus extra posters, stickers, Live Titles, and sharing options. Added share extensions let users send projects via email or Continue Reading

Radeon VII will be compatible with macOS Mojave 10.14.5

  By Mike Wuerthele Tuesday, April 02, 2019, 09:32 am PT (12:32 pm ET) Now available at retail, AMD’s Radeon VII graphics card can be used in a Thunderbolt 3 eGPU enclosure with the latest macOS Mojave beta. AMD’s press launch of the Radeon VII in January First spotted in Continue Reading